imayormaynotloltoomuch

Just another WordPress.com site

Homemade Reese Cups :) February 26, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bressett3 @ 4:35 pm

Here is the recipe that I used as a starting point for the cups!

http://thewhimsicalprincess.blogspot.com/2011/03/diy-reese-peanut-butter-egg.html

However, I did not make the full recipe this time because I was just trying it out. Basically, in true Lindsay fashion I measured nothing and just threw it in a bowl and mixed it up lol. But I am pretty sure you can just half this recipe and get about as many as I did (24 cups). I didn’t feel like shaping & dipping the ‘eggs’ so instead I used a 24 count mini cupcake pan. I used regular Crisco and a papertowel to grease every single cup- this is super important if you want them to come out easily! Not too much but do get the whole cup coated. You could also use the mini cupcake wrappers- although I am unsure how cleanly they would peel away from the chocolate in the end.

I melted half a bag of semi sweet chocolate chips (you can use any chocolate you like & next time I will use milk chocolate to get a more authentic Reese taste) with about a tsp of Crisco. After greasing the cupcake pan I poured just a small spoonful of chocolate into the bottoms of the cupcake pan. After they have all been coated, lightly smack your pan on the counter to ‘settle’ the chocolate uniformly on the bottoms. This is the base of your cups! Pop it into the freezer for about 10-15 minutes. Mix up the peanut butter mixture, and I put mine in a ziplock bag and cut the tip off (like an icing bag) and put a dollop of it into each cup, pressing it down slightly so that it doesn’t touch the edges of the pan (otherwise you wont get the top chocolate coating on the sides). finish all your cups and then melt the other part of your chocolate with the Crisco and pour just enough to cover them. Tap on your counter again and then pop in the freezer for a good 45 minutes until firm. You should be able to use a spoon and apply a small amount of pressure on the sides of the cups and they should pop right out!! I am keeping mine in the fridge 🙂 Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

