imayormaynotloltoomuch

Just another WordPress.com site

You can’t fake this part February 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bressett3 @ 8:10 pm

I was going to post something funny, but this week has been particularly emotional for me.

I have never felt so heartbroken over a news story the way I have been over this one.

http://www.wavy.com/dpp/news/local_news/parents-arraigned-in-babys-death-case

The Casey Anthony case made me furious and sad, but because this case is one that involves someone I know, my hometown, two innocent babies, and a friend’s child – it has consumed my thoughts. I am not going to sit here and write out all the awful things I feel about those 2 individuals, which – TRUST ME – I could fill a few blogs up with that. Instead, I am going to write about something else.

There is this moment, that EVERYONE tells you about. It is borderline corny, sometimes  annoying, and the look on a person’s face when they tell you is slightly creepy.

“When you see that baby’s face, oh you will just know. When you hold that baby for the first time, you will feel love you didn’t know you could.”  Oh yeah, all you parents out there know EXACTLY what I am talking about and are more than likely guilty of passing on that there nugget of info to some soon to be parents. I know I am! lol!

Here’s the thing, that moment is very much real, only there are no words that come close to matching what happens to you (not even what I am writing right now!!) I did not get to hold my son right away, in fact, I had to wait quite a few hours before holding him for the first time & my daughter- over 24 hours. I remember them bringing my son into the room and thinkin *omg that’s my baby!!* and AWWW!!! Then they picked him up and the moment almost seemed to go in slow motion as they placed him in my arms. It’s not even so much a moment as it is this switch that just goes off. Like a gravitational pull that shifts the balance of your entire being in just one second. Suddenly, you don’t really need anyone to tell you how to do anything when it comes to your baby. You already seem to know what your baby needs. You feel the same only completely different all at once. You are now and forever a mother/father. No one teaches you to be a parent when it comes to loving your child- this is the moment where that love truly begins. This tiny, itty bitty person looks at you like you are their entire world – because you are. There is nothing you won’t do for them; there is nothing you wouldn’t give them. I would give my life for my kids. It really is a love that no one can explain to you until it happens to you. I adore my children. My life is no longer all about me, and when that switch flips- it all makes sense. Sure, you will be tired & they will have you down right exhausted & frustrated at times, but they are your children. There is no option but to love them and care for them, at least that’s how I feel.

Anyone who has ever felt this before would NEVER do what those people did. I think its part of why it is so hard to hear about anyone harming a child. You don’t even have to have kids or even like them to know that they all should be loved and protected by someone. I am not only praying for the children in this story, but all children who have ever been in this type of situation & for those who have lost their lives living it.

 

Leave a Reply

